Wyoming Supreme Court By The Numbers:


  • 5 total seats
  • 0 current vacancies
  • 0 prosecutors
  • 0 public defenders
  • 0 Justices have other indigent defense experience
  • 0 civil rights lawyers

How Members of the Wyoming Supreme Court are Selected:

Appointment, Retention Election

The governor appoints justices from a list of three candidates submitted by the Judicial Nominating Commission to serve a one-year term. The Commission has three non-lawyer members selected by the Governor and three attorneys elected by the state bar association. The Chief Justice chairs the Commission and only votes in the event of a tie. After their initial term, justices face a retention election every eight years.

Selection method sources:

Ballotpedia, Judicial Election Methods By State; Brennan Center for Justice, Judicial Selection: An Interactive Map; Wyoming Judicial Branch, Judicial Nominating Commission